Cold Frame

Since I didn’t post while the cold frame was in progress, we’ll just pretend that I intended to do this as one big post instead of in progress.

I am so excited to have a cold frame. I have wanted one since I started reading gardening blogs, but I wasn’t sure where we would put it in the yard and I didn’t want to spend money on the windows. Since I scored windows from the farmhouse, it finally seemed like the time to convince Neil I “needed” one.

We pulled out some bushes on the south side of the house and the frame fits perfectly between the stoop to the laundry room door and one of the air conditioner units. I have a few things I want to do before it’s 100% finished, but it’s usable as is now. Neil replaced the broken glass in the painted frame so I need to paint the caulk so it matches the other windows because OCD. I’m adding stepping stones in front of it and planting some sort of ground cover. We have to come up with some kind of brace to prop the windows open on warm days.

Anyway, without further ado, the cold frame process…

IMG_20170423_120906
I decided to go with barn red paint just for fun.

 

IMG_20170425_102834
Apparently I didn’t take photos of the frame as Neil was building it, so here it is all painted.
IMG_20170425_170633
The inside is painted white to reflect light back onto the plants growing inside.
IMG_20170425_170640
Unfortunately the wind came up while I was inside and blew over the window as it was drying. Luckily, we have extras. 
IMG_20170514_173621
The final product with the windows installed. It’s on south side of the house so it’s sheltered and gets sun 90% of the day.

Theoretically, I should be able to extend the growing season by a month or two with this. Imagine fresh lettuce and basil for Christmas dinner!

Leave a Reply

