Starting Seeds

Spring break was lovely and the warmer weather has really  made me antsy to get the garden started. One tray is all tomatoes. 72 of them to be exact. Four different varieties, including three new ones that I haven’t grown before. The other tray has tomatillos and four kinds of hot peppers. To be honest, the past two years I have had mediocre success starting my own seeds. My success rate for germination is great, but without grow lights, they tend to get spindly. Plus when it’s time to transplant outside, I’ve usually made a couple of trips to the nursery. When I compare my tiny plants to the start plants they have, I always cave and buy them. I’m impatient and don’t want to wait for mine to get bigger.

image
Six tomatillos and 66 hot peppers. Grow baby grow.

Over the winter, N built this shelf for me in the box window over the kitchen sink. It faces west so it gets lots of good sunlight. It’s the perfect size for two heating mats plus two seed starting trays (72 each).

image
I hadn’t noticed how dreary the sky looked today. Can’t garden outside, but at least I can inside. Under the seed trays are several succulents plus two Romaine lettuce plants. It’s too early for them outside, but I just couldn’t wait to start them. I put them outside on warm days to get more sunlight. 

 

 

Leave a comment